Skip to main content

Commissioner welcomes new Ambassadors

Commissioner Colin Pettit has welcomed five new Ambassadors for Children and Young People.

The five new Ambassadors are Ricky Grace, Dr Robert Issacs AM, Dr Donald Payne, Linda Savage and Dawn Wallam.

Mr Pettit said that each Ambassador was making a significant commitment to supporting WA children and young people and their families.

“Each Ambassador works in their field to increase community awareness and understanding of factors which impact children and young people’s wellbeing,” Mr Pettit said.

“Our new Ambassadors come from a range of backgrounds, professions and networks and will complement our current Ambassadors who aim to help promote awareness of children and young people’s wellbeing to a variety of community sectors.”

Current Ambassadors include Professor Donna Cross, Annie Fogarty AM, Tonya McCusker AM, June Oscar AO, Hi Honour Judge Denis Reynolds, the Hon Barbara Scott OAM, Dr Casta Tungaraza, David Wirrpanda, Russell Woolf and Professor Stephen Zubrick.

Recent examples of the role the Ambassadors play in the work of the office include the development of the Statement of Commitment to Western Australian Children and Young People and presentations by Winthrop Professors Donna Cross and Stephen Zubrick at the Vulnerability Speaker Series.

The Commissioner acknowledged the work of outgoing Ambassadors Professor Colleen Hayward AM and Professor Trevor Parry AM, both of whom have worked closely with the Commissioner’s office since the inception of the Ambassador program.

Profiles on each Ambassador for Children and Young People can be viewed on the Ambassadors page.

Commissioner Colin Pettit with Ambassadors Linda Savage, Annie Fogarty, Casta Tungaraza, Robert Issacs and Donald Payne