Skip to main content

Advisory Committees

Advisory Committees of children and young people aged under 18 years are appointed each year. Twenty-three advisory committees have been appointed since 2010.

The Advisory Committees contribute directly to the Commissioner’s work, giving children and young people a say on important matters affecting their wellbeing.

2022 Advisory Committees 

The Commissioner has two advisory committees that will inform the current project focused on girls’ wellbeing. The Commissioner’s Speaking Out Surveys of WA students identified that female young people consistently rated their wellbeing below that of their male peers, reporting higher rates of stress, low life satisfaction and not feeling happy about themselves.

Wednesday 30 November 2022

To conclude the activities of the Commissioner’s Advisory Committees this year, students from Margaret River Senior High School and Penrhos College attended an afternoon tea hosted by His Excellency the Honourable Chris Dawson APM, Governor of Western Australia.  The Committees celebrated their achievements throughout the year and shared their views on girls’ wellbeing with the Governor and his wife, Mrs. Dawson.

The students shared some of their discussions on gender inequality and women in sport, period poverty, the need for early consent education, and the need for more inclusive school environments, including gender-neutral bathrooms.  Committee members have actively participated throughout the year in talks with school leaders, local councils and local members of Parliament to raise these issues and advocate for young people to be at the table when decisions about their wellbeing are made.

The Commissioner thanks all Advisory Committee members for their efforts this year.

2020 Advisory Committees 

In early 2020, the Commissioner formed two advisory committees to inform the office's work on the living environment and how it impacts on the wellbeing of children and young people in Western Australia. The committees are the Millennium Kids Advisory Committee and Merredin College Advisory Committee:

2018 Advisory Committees 

In early 2018, the Commissioner formed two advisory committees to inform the office's work on the wellbeing needs of lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans or intersex children and young people in Western Australia. The committees include the Perth LGBTI Advisory Committee and the Bunbury Senior High School Advisory Committee.

2017 Advisory Committees 

2016 Advisory Committees

2015 Advisory Committees

2014 Advisory Committees

2013 Advisory Committees

2011-2012 Advisory Committees

2010 Advisory Committees